The Hermetic Traveller

For: Explorers, Adventurers, Navigators

The Twelve Astrological Houses
Astrologers looked at the sky, and saw that from sunrise to sunset, the sun moved in a half circle. They concluded that it also moved through the night sky under the earth, in another half circle, thus completing a full circle.
They knew, from their Hermetic teachings, that the world was composed of 4 elements, and was influenced by 3 phases of Spirit. Thus they arrived at the 12 possible combinations that covered all life events. These combinations were used to create the 12 Houses, and the 12 Signs.
These are the 12 Houses, starting at the Ascendant.

The Ascendant

The astrological sign that is on the cusp (the beginning) of the first house is referred to as our Ascendant or rising sign. This is the sign that is coming up over the eastern horizon at your time of birth. The three most telling parts in a natal chart are persons' Sun, Moon and Ascendant.

The First House

The first house is the house of your personality as perceived by others and how you look at life yourself. The ascendant can also have a bearing on your physical appearance, ego, attitudes and sometimes your temperament.
Any planet in the first house exerts a powerful influence on a person. Someone with a large number of planets in their first house may have a highly adventurous and independent personality, finding it hard to connect with others, but often expecting others to follow their lead.

The first house is ruled by the planet Mars and the sign of Aires.

The Second House

The second house is the house of material possessions, and our sense of nourishment. It reflects our attitudes towards money and possessions. It also reflects how we earn and spend money. The second house also represents our need for security on an emotional level and is related to our self-worth through our sense of whether and how, we feel nourished..
Planets in the second house affect our attitudes to security and worldly possessions. Mars in the second house for example could bring an active or pushy attitude towards money while Jupiter the planet of good luck may bring an expansion of income or possessions.

The second house is ruled by the planet Venus and the sign of Taurus.

The Third House

The third house rules communication and short distance travel. It relates to early education, how we learn and adapt to new ideas. It encompasses our interaction with others on a daily basis and in our own environment. Our relationship with siblings is also shown in this house.
Planets in the third house are indicative of your interaction with neighbours and siblings and such things as driving. Mars in the third house will bring more aggression or activity to daily encounters. Venus in the third house on the other hand will manifest itself in more harmonious encounters and beautiful surroundings. Many planets in the third house indicates a lot of other people around you.

The third house is ruled by the planet Mercury and the sign of Gemini.

The Fourth House

The sign on the cusp of the fourth house is called the Immum Coeli and it is opposite the Medium Coeli. This house relates to our emotional life, our sense of nurture, and home. It deals with the beginning and the end of life, and our parents - particularly our mother. It is also to do with real estate and property.
Many planets in the fourth house may indicate someone who is private or may like to live in the past.

The fourth house is ruled by the Moon and the sign of Cancer.

The Fifth House

The fifth house rules creativity, and things we find playful, and fun.. It relates to romance and who we are attracted to, for play, not for marriage. It relates to children and your sense of freedom. It is also involved with gambling and risk-taking.
Planets in the fifth house indicate the use of creatively.

The fifth house is ruled by the Sun and the sign of Leo.

The Sixth House

The sixth house refers to service, health, and organisation. It relates to your work through the service you provide. It also relates to our habits and our ability to adapt.
The planets in your sixth house reflect your employment as well as your health.

The sixth house is ruled by Chiron (Traditionally Mercury) and the sign of Virgo

The Seventh House

The cusp of the seventh house is also called the Descendant (it is opposite the Ascendant). The seventh house reflects all our one-on-one relationships, in business, socially, or privately, including partners, clients, enemies, and lovers. The seventh house also deals with commitment and the traits that we look for in a marriage partner. It also tends to colour our imagination so that people we me meet, appear to take on, or emphasize our seventh house qualities.
Many planets in the seventh house indicates a strong need for one-on-one interaction with others, and those planets often reflect what we idealise in a partner.

The seventh house is ruled by Venus and the sign of Libra.

The Eighth House

The eighth house relates to death, transformations, sex, earthquakes and volcanoes.. It relates to other peoples' money such as legacies, insurance and loans. It also rules big business and crime and the sense of domination or compulsion.
The planets within the eighth house are likely to have a profound affect on our lives and emotions and are likely to be linked with imposed change.

The eighth house is ruled by Pluto and the sign of Scorpio.

The Ninth House

The ninth house is concerned with Philosophy, education, management, teaching, and distant travel, people from other countries, and our sense of confidence.
Planets in the ninth house affect our growth, confidence, and some of the ideas that underpin our values. Ninth house planets generally have a positive influence on your life, although some can lead to an over inflation of our ego, or body.

The ninth house is ruled by the planet Jupiter, and the sign of Sagittarius.

The Tenth House

The cusp of the tenth house is referred to as our Medium Coeli or MidHeaven. The tenth house is concerned with ambition, career, your social standing, and responsibilities. It is also related to authority figures, beginning with your father.
Planets in the tenth house are indicative of social success, and respectability.

The tenth house is ruled by the planet Saturn, and the sign of Capricorn.

The Eleventh House

The eleventh house rules our individuality, personal authority, and the associations or groups in our lives. Unexpected and sudden changes, electricity, sudden insights, and genius, are all elements involved in the eleventh house.
Planets in the eleventh house, tend to reflect the unusual in your life.

The eleventh house is ruled by the planet Uranus, and the sign of Aquarius.

The Twelfth House

The twelfth house is concerned with all things hidden, also Hospitals, Monasteries, and Prisons, our dream life and imagination, art, music, escapism and secrets.
Planets in the twelfth house can be indicative of a susceptibility to drugs and/or vagueness in our thoughts or behaviour. It highlights those talents that will emerge later in life.

The twelfth house is ruled by the Planet Neptune, and the sign of Pisces.